ICC Under 19 World Cup Winners List

The ICC Under 19 World Cup is the first step towards international cricket for young cricketers. International Cricket Council (ICC) organizes U19 world cup for young players under-19 age and tournament take place in every two years since 1998. ICC Under 19 World Cup is the biggest platform for young players to show their talent at international level. If you looking for ICC Under 19 World Cup winners and winning captains names then here is a list.

The team squad of ICC Under 19 World Cup is selected by the board based on player’s domestic cricket but it has discovered many hidden talents since its inception. India biggest current star Virat Kohli also start his journey with ICC U19 World Cup.

ICC Under 19 World Cup Winners

ICC Under 19 World Cup Winners List

The inaugural edition of ICC Under 19 World Cup was won by host Australia. So far, total eleven times Under 19 World Cup was held by the ICC. Australia and India are the most successful team in the history of the tournament, each team has won thrice and were the runner once. Pakistan has won it twice while South Africa, West Indies and England have won the under 19 cricket world cup once.

Here is the complete list of ICC Under 19 World Cup winners.

YearHostWinnerRunner-upFinal ResultVenue
2016BangladeshWest IndiesIndiaWest Indies won by 5 wicketsDhaka
2014UAESouth AfricaPakistanSouth Africa won by 6 wicketsDubai
2012AustraliaIndiaAustraliaIndia won by 6 wicketsTownsville
2010New ZealandAustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 25 runsLincoln
2008MalaysiaIndiaSouth AfricaIndia won by 12 runs (D/L)Puchong
2006Sri LankaPakistanIndiaPakistan won by 38 runsColombo
2004BangladeshPakistanWest IndiesPakistan won by 25 runsDhaka
2002New ZealandAustraliaSouth AfricaAustralia won by 7 wicketsLincoln
2000Sri LankaIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wicketsColombo
1998South AfricaEnglandNew ZealandEngland won by 7 wicketsJohannesburg
1988AustraliaAustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 5 wicketsAdelaide

2018 under 19 cricket world cup is scheduled to be held by New Zealand from 13 January to 3 February 2018. The tournament will be played across seven venues Hagley Oval, Rangiora Oval, Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln No. 3, John Davies Oval, Bay Oval and Cobham Oval.

The next U-19 World Cup is just a couple of months away, here’s the list of the u19 world cup winning captains.

  • 1988 (Australia) – Geoff Parker
  • 1998 (England) – Owais Shah
  • 2000 (India) – Mohammad Kaif
  • 2002 (Australia) – Cameron White
  • 2004 (Pakistan) – Khalid Latif
  • 2006 (Pakistan) – Sarfraz Ahmed
  • 2008 (India) – Virat Kohli
  • 2010 (Australia) – Mitchell Marsh
  • 2012 (India) – Unmukt Chand
  • 2014 (South Africa) – AK Markram
  • 2016 (West Indies) – SO Hetmyer